1 week

Well it is T-minus 7 days till I leave for Nashville and I already have butterflies when I think about it.  There are many reasons for these nerves.  See when you are in shape and fit social anxiety is really not an issue.  I mean lets face it non fat people pick out and sports bra and a pair of running shorts and go.  Well me on the other hand I have to find something comfortable and than hides the “mommy belly”.  I have almost come to except the fact that since I delivered a bunch of linebackers that I am never going to have a 6 packs unless it is a 6 pack of beer.  Any-who so I have been trying to find the one outfit that is comfortable and flattering, and losing the battle. If one is flattering it rubs in all the wrong places, and if it is comfortable I look frumpy.  Yes I know I should be focusing on running, however I am a woman and as much as I usually look like all I have is athletic gear, I still want to look “cute”. (yeah something like that!) Secondly I am worried about how flat the route is going to be, and if I am going to forget that Nashville is an hour behind. Am I going to oversleep?  Then there is the question of what do I when it is over.  I would like to say I have a million things I want to do and see but I am not really sure where to start! As for the running part I am doing my last big run Sunday morning.  This will be the first time I set out to do 13, I need to see how I am pacing myself.  Right now up to 8-10 I am averaging 11-12:30 minutes splits, however that is with very little elevation change.  I have found myself thinking to myself what the hell have I signed up for.  I keep saying you have 4 hours, but then the competitiveness comes out and I have this internal struggle where my competitive side says run fatty run! So pretty much that is all I am a ball of nerves.

Leave a comment