Getting ready to leave

Here it is 2000 on Thursday and I am getting ready to get the kids in bed. I get my snuggles and loves and tell my babies how much I love them and I will miss them and it happened… Caeleigh broke down in tears and said “but I will miss you mommy.” Tears immediately hit my eyes. As I fought them back, I tried to calm her by saying it will be like spending the night with papaw and mamaw for the weekend, and with those big ole alligator tears she said “but it isn’t the same you are MY mommy”. Now I have a big ole case of mommy guilt. I know she knows I am running and she had said over the past days how much she wants me to do well, but she doesn’t want me to go. As for the boys, Colton is excited I get to stay in a hotel, and Connor thinks it is cool I am going To Nashville. I have promised to FaceTime and call them often, but I miss my babies already and I haven’t even left. I am leaving at 0500 headed west. I am excited, yet scared as hell. What if I fail? All I can do is the best I can, hopefully it will be enough. I am doing this race for me, but also for my kids to show them that hard work and perseverance pays off. To show them that they can achieve their dreams! That the sky is the limit. Here goes nothing…

There is freedom waiting for you,
On the breezes of the sky,
And you ask, “What if I fall?”
Oh but my darling,
What if you fly?

~Ernest Hemingway

Leave a comment